Monday, January 28, 2008

He, being Lenny Kravitz is the man who should create more albums. "We've all got our voice. And if I have this gift to play music, then I'm gonna talk about love," Kravitz says in a YouTube promo for his eighth studio album.

Fourteen tracks and the lead single "I'll Be Waiting" and its lyrics:

I'm the one who really love ya, baby
I've been knockin' at your door

and as long as I'm livin'
I'll be waitin'
as long as I'm breathin'
I'll be there
whenever you call me
I'll be waitin'
whenever you need me
I'll be there

It is only a taste of what is described as an album that has the influence of the Beatles, James Brown, the Black Crowes, and Jimi Hendrix.

1. Love Revolution
2. Bring It On
3. Good Morning
4. Love Love Love
5. If You Want It
6. I'll Be Waiting
7. Will You Marry Me
8. I Love the Rain
9. A Long and Sad Goodbye
10. Dancin' til Dawn
11. This Moment is All There Is
12. A New Door
13. Back in Vietnam
14. I Want To Go Home

Rating: 4 out of 5

Wednesday, January 23, 2008

Upcoming CDs

Tuesday, January 15, 2008

Former Beatle Ringo Starr's new album

Ringo Starr has return with help from Dave Stewart. Now, I must confess that Beatlemania is something I have never understood, yet, when it comes to the Fab Four release solo album there is just something about them. (See Paul McCartney).

But this Beatle, the release was pushed back to the beginning of 2008; the album was officially released in Europe in the second week of January, 2008.

Mark Hudson was the initial producer of the record but was replaced by Stewart after a falling out with Starr. (The album's production credits read, "Produced by Ringo Starr and Mark Hudson; Re-Produced by Ringo Starr and David Stewart." All of the songs but one were written with members of the Roundheads, although Stewart also has several co-writing credits.)

Starr's attorney Bruce Grakal told journalist Peter Palmiere that the partnership between Hudson and Starr was over and they would never work together again. This happened after Hudson dropped out of the 2006 tour as musical director to do the TV show "The One: Making A Music Star".

According to Palmiere, Hudson now claims that the split was over Starr's insistence on using synthesized sounds, for which Stewart is known, whereas Hudson wanted real guitars, pianos, strings etc.

However, about the parting with Hudson, Starr said (in response to Palmiere's report), "The separation between Mark Hudson and myself was a question of trust and friendship and had nothing to do with synthesizers."

Rating: 4 out of 5

Monday, January 14, 2008

Radiohead flys over the 'Rainbow'

On the deliriously satisfying In Rainbows (Ato Records/Red), Radiohead returns to a more straight-ahead (though subdued) rock sound. Much hubbub has been made about this record's innovative release.

Radiohead allowed fans to pay what they wished to download fairly low-resolution tracks from the band's own website. Like so many innovations, it already seems funny both that it was such big news and that someone else of similar stature hadn't done it sooner.

1. 15 Step
2. Bodysnatchers
3. Nude
4. Weird Fishes/Arpeggi
5. All I Need
6. Faust Arp
7. Reckoner
8. House Of Cards
9. Jigsaw Falling Into Place
10. Videotape

Some pundits were appalled that it took awhile to download the tracks if you tried to do it at the same time as thousands of other people, while others decried that the group was trying to kill the music industry (or save it).

Rating: 4 out of 5

Monday, January 07, 2008

Upcoming CDs

These CDs will be reviewed for 2008...