Friday, December 01, 2006

Airwave Blog 2: Timberlake has a 'Future' in album

Best album of 2006: Former N'Sync Justin Timberlake thank God is not turning into Michael Jackson and it is evident in this album Future Sex/Love Sounds (Jive Records) and give credit where its due to producer and music mogul Timbaland. Need I say more? Okay, I admit that when I saw Timberlake goes solo after N'Sync had its run of hits in the early 90s I thought that those who have sought fame by themselves would just faded away.

However, throughout this album Timberlake is good and even if those who think that the first single that was release was manipulated by a machine (just ask his ex-girlfriend Britney Spears when she sings) It is a good song and I think that you should not care to much about it. I even surprised myself when I listen. I actually said, "THIS is a great album. To all the naysayers: **** off!

"SexyBack," the inescapable summer sizzler of a first single off this short and thrillingly unwholesome disc, makes that clear on its own: If there was ever any question about whether sexy was in need of reviving--a doubtful proposition at best, given the sheer volume of JT's gyrating counterparts--he lays it to rest instantly over a small but insistent Timbaland-concocted beat.

On that track, Timberlake's appeal is his sweet but newly thuggish-sounding voice--here's a good kid gone bad, and he's determined to convince us of it not only by tossing a few well-timed mother****ers our way but also with such lyrics as "I'll let you whip me if I misbehave."

The rest of FutureSex will feel familiar to anyone who picked up 2002's brilliantly funk-flecked Justified: "Love Stoned/I Think She Knows Me," shifts from Michael Jackson-esque paranoid trilling to pulsating guitar rock; "Chop Me Up," a collaboration with Three 6 Mafia and Timbaland, gives up the grit rap-style but still manages to recall both Prince and Stevie Wonder; "My Love," with T.I., mines classic Timberlake territory with meltaway lyrics like "I can see us holding hands walking on the beach/Our clothes in the sand."

1. Future Sex/Love Sound
2. SexyBack
3. Sexy Ladies
4. My Love
5. Love Stoned
6. What Goes Around
7. Chop Me Up
8. Damn Girl
9. Summer Love
10. Until The End Of Time
11. Losing My Way
12. All Over Again (Another Song)

Rating: 4 out of 5

Labels: , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home