Tuesday, December 05, 2006

Airwave Blog 2: Evanescence leaves 'The Open Door'

Best album of 2006: Evanescence returned this year with its album The Open Door (Wind-Up Records) and no matter what anyway says Amy Lee is a goddess. What wrong with a woman being in charge of a band.

I'm sure there was controversy surrounding them with one of its original bass player leaving the band cause he came to heads with Lee. She is just like Blondie's Debbie Harry. YES!

1. Sweet Sacrifice
2. Call Me When You're Sober
3. Weight of the World
4. Lithium
5. Cloud Nine
6. Snow White Queen
7. Lacrymosa
8. Like You
9. Lose Control
10. The Only One
11. Your Star
12. All That I'm Living For
13. Good Enough

Regardless of what people think or feeling, whether that's the album is too heavy on the ballad without many rock songs or whether this album should have been the same as the band's last album Fallen; whatever you think I think that its one of the best of 2006.

Lee makes herself the star and written late last year, The Open Door was recorded at The Record Plant in Los Angeles and mixed at Ocean Way Studios in March 2006. Marking the return of long-time friend and producer Dave Fortman, the album's musical elements include a classically-infused choir and strings on several tracks, giving further color to songs of introspection, longing, doubt, self-respect and, ultimately, empowerment.

The album opens with "Sweet Sacrifice," a post-relationship catharsis that head-dives from an otherworldly intro into a hard-driving thrash of hard rock guitars and soaring rock vocals. Its first single, the mid-tempo "Call Me When You're Sober," reinforces the moving-away-from-dysfunction theme.

Other standout tracks on The Open Door include "Lithium," which embraces feeling over numbness, "All That I'm Living For," Lee's tribute to band life, "Weight of the World," her plea for perspective from the expectation of young fans, and "Good Enough," a string-and-choir-infused closer distinguished as the band's first truly (almost) contented song ("It feels really good ending the album this way," says Lee).

Having toured for a year-and-a-half straight with only a month off following the release of Fallen, Evanescence hopes to hit the road this time out with a care not to neglect key markets worldwide.

Its U.S. tour begins immediately after the release of The Open Door, rewarding hardcore fans with a "sneak peak" of the album during a handful of more intimate theater dates before segueing into much larger arena shows.

Labels: , , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home